Dear Daddy:

Dear Daddy,

Did you know I’m 21, and I miss you?

I know I’m grown and have a family of my own, and I have a husband who loves me and whom I love, but did you know I still cry sometimes because I miss you so much?

Dear Daddy,

Did you know I find myself remembering the times we used to play outside, I in my t-ball cap from when I was four, and you with your leather catching glove, and even though it finally got boring when I was about 7, I still played with you, because I just loved you so much and looked forward to our time together?

Dear Daddy,

Did you know I still look forward to the time when I will see you again, and I want so much to throw my arms around your neck, and jump around your waist, and you spin me around like I’m still your little girl, but I won’t, because it’s “inappropriate,” since I’m now grown?

Dear Daddy,

Did you know I’ll always love you? I mean really, truly love you?

Did you know that even when I have children who run into their father’s arms when he comes home, that I will envy that right, since I always want to scream your name in glee when I see you?

Did you know I’ll always wait for the times I can spend time with you, even if now it’s me talking your ear off while you grill instead of us playing catch?

Did you know I’ll always eagerly await our weekly phone calls, even though they’ve become fairly routine, because you’re always “still alive” and I’m “great” or “fine” and you always work too much and I never have enough time?

Did you know that no matter what, I will always be your little girl?

2 thoughts on “Dear Daddy:

Leave a comment